OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
A cuddly version of Renamon’s baby form, from Digimon Tamers.

One of the first things I did when I got home was plan a plush to make. I wanted it to be a warming plush that had a pocket for a hot water bottle, so that meant it had to be something vaguely oval-shaped. Recently, I  (re-)watched all of Digimon Tamers, and Renamon (one of the Digimon main characters, for those not in the know…) is a cut above the others. Sadly, her anthropomorphic figure doesn’t really work for a hot water bottle plush, so I went with her pre-digivolution, Viximon. (Who only appears, unnamed, in the final episode. So I get hipster points too.)

I’m too lazy to get out my sewing machine and make sure it works, and I also like sewing while watching TV (or video recordings of X-wing miniatures games…) so I put her together all by hand. I think it makes me feel a little more affectionate towards her, too.

This is also the first plush I’ve sewn out of minky fabric, and I was very pleased at the results. It’s forgiving for messy hand-stitches, although I had to take care when cutting out my pattern pieces so that the fur was all running in the same direction (so it’s pleasing to stroke her)! Her tail is made of some leftover faux fur from a plush Jumpluff (fluffy plant-pokemon, for those still not in the know…) I made a while back, and the inside of her pouch is made of the softest cuddly fabric I have ever felt. If you put a warm hot water bottle in it and then put your hands inside to warm them up… it’s probably what it feels like if you’re a god and you put your hands inside the pockets of your divine hoodie.

She’s a bit big… but maybe travel-friendly? You could use her as a travel pillow, and you could put a book or something in her pouch. Maybe. I don’t know. I think she’s very multi-purpose. Cuddles. Warmth. Storage.

The pattern was all made by hand as well. I think I’ve come a long way – she’s the third plush I’ve designed a pattern for, and I think I’m getting the hang of it. If anyone (basically: one person) is interested in the pattern… it’s not a formal affair, but I can make a post about the theory behind it.

Here she is, occasionally looking out at an autumnal lake, thinking of how warm she’ll make people.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA